The Doors – Waiting for the Sun – 1968 – Elektra / Asylum

The Doors - Waiting for the Sun - 1968 - Elektra / Asylum

This and An American Prayer are my favourite Doors albums. Jim does his best nasal Sinatra voice on Yes the River Knows but the high point for me is My Wild Love which sounds like a work song sung by a demonic chain gaing. It seems that the Doors are out of favour with most of the people I know these days. That’s alright though, these things happen in cycles. When I first got this record I was about 15 years old. I remember my dad bought me this. We were out shopping. He wanted to get me a present and asked me what I’d like. If he had known much about the Doors he probably wouldn’t have approved. I like everything about this album. I feel like it was the band at the height of their powers. With Jim on board they never made a bad record.

Leave a Reply

